Skip to Main Content
Baxter County Patrol Vehicle
Joe H. Edmonds
Sheriff Joe H. Edmonds
Term: 1979 - 1995 (1st term)

Joe H. Edmonds
1949 ~

Married to Dianna L. Dutton Edmonds
Three children, Monica Edmonds Lueck, Kyle and Kayla Edmonds


• Past President and Life Member of the Arkansas Sheriffs' Association
• Past President of the Arkansas Sheriffs' Youth Ranches Board of Directors
• Past President of the North Arkansas-Southern Missouri Peace Officers' Association
• Past member of the State Law Enforcement Academy Advisory Committee
• Governor's Appointee to the State Drug Advisory Board
• Served as Chairman of the State Drug Abuse Coordination Council
• Served as the Governor's liaison to all State Law Enforcement Agencies


• Graduate of Mountain Home High School
• Graduate of Ouachita Baptist University - Bachelor of Arts, Political Science
• Graduate of the National Sheriffs' Institute - F.B.I. Academy
• Graduate of the Arkansas Law Enforcement Leader Class for Quality and Excellence in Law Enforcement. Presented by the F.B.I. and the Criminal Justice Institute at the University of Arkansas
• Graduate of the National Center for Rural Law Enforcement Executive Management Institute presented by the University of Arkansas
• Certified Law Enforcement Instructor through the Arkansas Commission on Law Enforcement Standards and Training
• First Officer in Baxter County to hold the Senior Certificate in Law Enforcement - the highest level of police certification - Also holds all four other certificates awarded by Standards and Training

Other Law Enforcement Positions held:

• Arkansas State Police - Undercover Narcotics Investigator, Trooper
• Arkansas State Drug Director - Appointed by Governor Jim Guy Tucker
• Staff Coordinator Law Enforcement Training Academy

Accomplishments as Baxter County Sheriff:

• Developed Specialized Units within the Sheriff's Office
• Established a Water Patrol for the lakes and rivers
• Established a certified Underwater Rescue/Recovery Team
• Established a Canine Unit for searches and drug eradication
• Acquired a helicopter through army surplus for anti-drug efforts and searches
• Expanded the D.A.R.E. program in all three Baxter County School Districts
• Installed video cameras in county patrol vehicles
• Purchased Baxter County's first Computer Voice Stress Analyzer, a tool utilized for truth verification in law enforcement
• Purchased a Robot Patrol Car with seized drug funds for youth drug-prevention programs
• Established Deputies on School Bus program for the safety of school children
• Established Senior Safe - Senior Adult Safety and Crime Prevention
• Established Anti-Crime Programs including Neighborhood Watch, 24-hour patrols, Crime Stoppers
• Established one of the best Reserve Deputy Programs in Arkansas
• Established Project Lifesaver; a program designed to locate missing adults with all types of dementia, including Alzheimer Disease, and children with Autism Spectrum Disorder and Down Syndrome


 1980 - U.S. Child Safety Council Award for recognition of Concern for Children of Baxter County
• 1982 - Second place North Central Arkansas/Southern Missouri Peace Officers' Shooting Award
• 1984 - Veterans of Foreign Wars Award Highest Ideals of Law Enforcement
• 1985 - Award of Honor for Outstanding Contributions and Services to the Arkansas Sheriffs' Association
• 1987 - Leadership Award - Arkansas Sheriffs' Association - for unselfish leadership and dedication to law enforcement
• 1988 - Award of Honor for years of service to the Arkansas Sheriffs' Association by helping provide quality law enforcement education to the citizens of Baxter County
• 1988 - Twin Lakes Youth Organization Award for Recognizing the Needs of Youth
• 1991 - Award of Honor for outstanding support to the Arkansas Sheriffs' Association
• 1992 - Certificate of Recognition - Outstanding Public Service in Law Enforcement - from Governor William J. Clinton
• 1992-93 - Award of Honor - Recognized as a model law enforcement leader - Arkansas Sheriffs' Association
• 1996 - Services Rendered Award - The Salvation Army
• 2001 - Elks Distinguished Citizenship Award
• 2003 - City of Briarcliff Award - for setting up first metro patrol in Baxter County provided outstanding response to concerns and safety of citizens
• 2004 - Meritorious Service Award - Arkansas Sheriff's Association